List of Indian Political Parties Which Supported And Opposed The Removal of Article 370

List of Indian Political Parties Which Supported And Opposed The Removal of Article 370

5th of August 2019 marks the brightest day in the history of India. On this day, the central government has removed the Article 370 that gives special status to Jammu and Kashmir. While the people of the ruling party are calling it a bold and historic decision, the people of the opposition are calling it an attack on democracy and a black day for the country. While some opposition parties have also supported this move of the government, few parties on the other hand have opposed it.

Here is a list of Indian political parties which supported and opposed the Removal of Article 370.

List of Political Parties Supported The Removal of Article 370

  1. BJP (Bhartiya Janta Party)
  2. BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party), Uttar Pradesh
  3. AIADMK (TamilNadu)
  4. YSRCP (Andhra Pradesh)
  5. BJD (Odisha)
  6. TDP (Andhra Pradesh)
  7. INLD (Haryana)
  8. AAP (Delhi)
  9. Akali Dal (Punjab)

BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party), Uttar Pradesh

Satish Chandra Mishra, BSP MP, in Rajya Sabha said, “Our party gives complete support. We want that the Bill be passed. Our party is not expressing any opposition to Article 370 Bill & the other Bill”.

AIADMK (TamilNadu)

A. Navaneethakrishnan, AIADMK MP in Rajya Sabha said, “Amma is well known for upholding sovereignty and integrity. So AIADMK party supports the two resolutions, Reorganisation Bill & the Reservation Bill”.

YSRCP (Andhra Pradesh)

YSCRP Rajysabha MP, V. Vijaysai Reddy said in parliament that we support the removal of Article 370 & Home minister Amit Shah will be remembered in the Indian Parliament history for this bold move.

BJD (Odisha)

BJD suppored the removal of Article 370. BJD MP, Prasanna Acharya said in Rajya Sabha, “In real sense today, Jammu & Kashmir has become a part of India. My party supports this resolution. We are a regional party but for us nation is first.”

He further said, ” we will really compliment Prime Minister Modi when PoK becomes a part of J&K.” He also said that no one bothered about the plight of Kashmiri Pandits all this while, and his party is happy that all Kashmiris will get their due.

TDP (Andhra Pradesh)

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Chandrababu Naidu supported Union Government’s decision to revoke Article 370.

AAP (Delhi)

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said “We support the govt on its decisions on J & K. We hope this will bring peace and development in the state”.

List of Political Parties Opposed The Removal of Article 370

  1. Congress
  2. SP (Samajwadi Party). Uttar Pradesh
  3. RJD (Rashtriya Janta Dal), Bihar
  4. JDU (Janta Dal United), Bihar
  5. TMC (Trinmool Congress), West Bengal
  6. CPIM (West Bengal)
  7. DMK (TamilNadu)
  8. MDMK (TamilNadu)
  9. CPI ( Communist Party of India
  10. PDP (Mehbooba Mufti, J&K)
  11. NC (National Conference, J&K)
  12. AIUDF (All India United Democratic Front), Assam
  13. AIMIM (All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen)


Congress party opposed the removal of Article 370 in Parliament. Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad said in Rajysabha while opposing the removal of Article 370, “Shameful that you have turned J&K into a non entity by making a Lt Governor there, so that you can appoint even a peon or a clerk, sitting here(Delhi)”.


CPIM holded protest march against the Centre’s decision to revoke Article 35A & Articles 370 from Jammu And Kashmir.


RG Yadav,SP said, “If you wanted to remove article 370 then you should have done only that, why did you abolish statehood and made it a UT? World history is witness that any attempt to suppress people through force has always failed. You should have taken people into confidence at least.


JDU leader KC Tyagi said, “Our party is not supporting the Bill moved in the Rajya Sabha today. We have different thinking. We want that Article 370 should not be revoked”.

Got Queries? Ask with #Article370 #Article35A #Kashmir